Home > art, new zealand > The Chair

The Chair

December 13, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Fever Hospital chair

There are two things that I love very much to photograph: cemeteries and abandoned buildings. So, when I was invited to come along to Fever Hospital – an abandoned hospital in Wellington – I was more than thrilled!  An earlier post included a set of Hipstamatic images taken at the hospital but this one was taken using my regular Canon.

  1. knudsens
    December 13, 2011 at 11:23 pm

    Great photo! I can understand you like abandoned buildings, i like them to.

  2. December 14, 2011 at 3:53 pm

    beautiful. I can imagine how much fun you might have had here .
    there are so many interesting textures here and the chair happens to draw most attention.

  3. December 14, 2011 at 9:40 pm

    Cool shot- great place. With a bit of immagination that bag on the right could be a body 😉

  4. Ali
    December 15, 2011 at 8:04 am

    Thank you all for your nice comments. Good to know we have a group of people in WordPress who appreciate abandoned places.
    Yes, the textures are quite interesting and I think the treatment I gave to the image emphasises the texture of the wall and floor even more.
    Fergus, that is a lot of imagination! I would have run like hell if that bag had a dead body! HAHA

  5. maenamor
    December 15, 2011 at 9:55 pm

    what a great photo

  6. December 16, 2011 at 7:54 am

    Thank you Maenamor 🙂

  7. December 17, 2011 at 1:57 am

    That’s a fantastic shot. I’ve tried photographing some abandon buildings nearby but haven’t been able to capture them as well. Great work. Thanks for the inspiration.

    • December 18, 2011 at 1:17 pm

      I’m glad you like the image Angela. Hope you get the chance to get into one interesting abandoned building, you’ll have fun photographing it.

  8. December 20, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    It looks more like a prison than an abandoned hospital. Really chilling. I love the angle and perspective distortion as well as the monochromatic palette!

  9. December 20, 2011 at 8:03 pm

    Thanks Adam. An abandoned prison perhaps ;-).

  10. December 31, 2011 at 10:46 am

    You can add me to the list of abandoned building lover’s, because I do love them! This shot is absolutely fantastic Alicia, and I reckon you’ve got those tones just right, the light on the wall works like a charm to give the image the atmosphere it needs…Great stuff!

    • January 1, 2012 at 10:48 am

      Haha Well, we are a big group of people who love and admire abandoned buildings 😉 I really didn’t have to do that much to the image, just a subtle adjustment on the tones, having the indirect light coming through the windows definitely added a lot to the image.

      • January 1, 2012 at 10:51 am

        Sure as hell did…

        Happy new year to you!

  11. Cat
    January 8, 2012 at 2:26 pm

    Wow, your photos are incredible! I’ve really enjoyed checking them out.

  12. January 8, 2012 at 5:37 pm

    This reminds me of the time in 1976 when I visited the ruins of some of the buildings on Ellis Island in New York Harbor. That was the place that millions of immigrants passed through when they came to the United States in the first half of the 20th century. Much has been restored there now, but I saw parts of it that looked like your photograph.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

  13. January 10, 2012 at 9:29 am

    wonderful photo

  14. January 15, 2012 at 12:33 pm

    This is a fantastic photo. I love everything about it. When you say you took this with your regular Canon, what type of camera is that, digital? I’m thinking of getting a Canon….

    • January 15, 2012 at 12:55 pm

      Thanks so much! I’m really glad you like the image – I’ve been really pleased with the great response to it. I took the shot with one of my two Canon 5Ds that I normally use for my professional wedding and commercial photography shoots, using a Canon 24-70mm f/2.8 lens. Along with the 1D series, the 5D is the only other full frame digital SLR made by Canon. Although Canon now have a Mark II version of the 5D out, I’m still really happy with the original version and can highly recommend it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

